My Walk Knows

My Walk Knows

A bitter cold night…a long stretch of lonely road…no stars above, no squirrels, no raccoons, no humans…I walk quietly in the company of a sub-zero wind, first with bare mind, then with an economy of thoughts…I am intimate with the night…it is my conduit to the real world…it defines the existential character of my walk…and then something stirs in that lull space deep within me, a tingling sensation, as I imagine the stirrings happening underneath the ground I walk on…I try to pursue it along my line of thoughts…succumbing to a dependence on logic…but I cannot comprehend it…there is a shimmering of nothingness…I cannot deny there is that something…an existence…that is hidden…for a couple of minutes, I plumb…deeper and deeper…still no explanation…no disclosure…and then I just yield to what is going on…yet I just happen to know…my walk knows…the night knows…perhaps in another walk, another night, a revelation…and then the cold wind starts to bother me…and I become aware of my walk…

About Virgilio Gavia

Interests: poetry, photography, writing (prose and poetry), walking/hiking, reading (non-fiction and books of poetry) drinking coffee and herbal teas, camping, fishing, contemplating, solitude, silence, traveling, faded jeans, meaningful conversation, wabi-sabi, haiku, tanka, Jazz, Classical, oldies, all the books of Thomas Merton, Joseph Campbell, Thomas Moore, John O'Donohue, Mary Oliver, David Whyte, Mark Strand, ancient Chinese and Japanese poets, The Bible, spirituality, philosophy, psychology, sociology, history, humanities and the arts.
Image | This entry was posted in Connection, Contemplation, Deeper Truth, Existentialism, Inner Knowing, Inner Life, Intuition, Ruminations, sub consciousness, Winter, Wondering. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Walk Knows

  1. j.h. white says:

    This has that intimate touch of the best of film noir….

  2. maskednative says:

    Communication with the heartbeat of the world, no separation, tuned in, belonging, knowing without words, I enjoy your walks Virgilio, lovely post.
    Apparently, the resonance of the earth maintains a frequency of 7.83 Hz, an exact match as the frequency of our brain – (Professor W.O.Schumann) gives a whole new meaning to ‘keeping your finger on the pulse’.

    • thanks Teri for the info…new to me…I am still exploring my walks as they relate to my inner compass, nature, spirituality, wellness, liberation, and even dealing with grief and loss…this is why I am digging deep into the works of Thoreau, Basho and the ancient Chinese and Japanese poets, John Muir, John Burroughs, Gary Snyder, Annie Dillard…and the list goes…

  3. chrisbkm says:

    “… as I imagine the stirrings happening underneath the ground I walk on”. I can often relate so closely to your thoughts and words Virgilio. Our minds walk a very similar path. Beautiful words and image as always.

Leave a Reply

