A Calming Presence on a Tuesday Evening

The leaves are still.
The wildflowers and weeds are still.
…and I am still.

Nothing seems to be moving but everything looks limpid
and there is something graceful about it.
The simplicity…the steadiness…the serenity…
In this moment so gentle, I can hear the soft sound of the radio
and the gentle hush of the air-conditioner.
I can smell the calmative breath of Lavender coming out of the Aromatherapy diffuser.
I love this gentle feeling, this relaxed state of being,
The peace that seems to pass understanding.

I look at the fading blue sky,
cluttered with white clouds,
with some parts flecked with dark grey.
Looks like it is going to rain.

I am being absorbed by a river of calmness
back in my mother’s womb.
There is a prevailing sense of submission
as if everything floats together with the gentle blowing of the wind
…the ease of the moment.

I allow myself to ride on with the movement, sincerity and fullness of life
as it weaves in me and through me.
My watch tells me its 8:15 pm though it looks like 4:00 pm.
It seems like everything is conspiring to create this placid kind of belongingness…
of intimacy with the order of things,
where everything seems to be at the exact moment of time and existence,
as if I just came out from a very nice afternoon nap,
where the meaning of life is superseded by a tender presence
that is beyond language, beyond concept, beyond everything…
and all of these things profoundly nourished all of me,
my flesh, my bones, my cells, my soul…
What I am seeing and feeling is my deepest truth…a part of my authentic self…
though I cannot rationalize it.

A beautiful brown furry cat
just cuts across the street.
I walk away
with a smile on my face.

*photography by Virgilio Gavia

About Virgilio Gavia

Interests: poetry, photography, writing (prose and poetry), walking/hiking, reading (non-fiction and books of poetry) drinking coffee and herbal teas, camping, fishing, contemplating, solitude, silence, traveling, faded jeans, meaningful conversation, wabi-sabi, haiku, tanka, Jazz, Classical, oldies, all the books of Thomas Merton, Joseph Campbell, Thomas Moore, John O'Donohue, Mary Oliver, David Whyte, Mark Strand, ancient Chinese and Japanese poets, The Bible, spirituality, philosophy, psychology, sociology, history, humanities and the arts.
This entry was posted in Prose, Ruminations. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Calming Presence on a Tuesday Evening

  1. your poem captured the peace of mind perfectly and transmitted it to me. thanks.

  2. Subhan Zein says:

    Your poem has got strong imagery, and I would like to congratulate you on that. Well done, Virgilio! 🙂

    Subhan Zein

  3. Lisa Murray says:

    truly beautiful! I love days like this!

Leave a Reply

