At the End of the Day

Looking out the window,
I saw the peacefulness
of the afternoon sunlight,
of the slow-motion movements of leaves,
of two parked Japanese cars,
and that of the big green garbage bin.
They each have their own stories to relate,
the very purpose of their existence.
As to why they happened to be at the same place and
at the right time in peaceful coexistence
is a mystery.
Yet I sensed a certain kind of unfolding cosmic unity
that can only be grasped by contemplation
rather than by rationalization.
They were just there,
just being there as part of the natural order of the universe
and in obedience to the mild overtures of time and space.
And then I saw a black squirrel chasing a brown one
down a maple tree.
And yet they did not even disturb the pervading presence of peace
as they harmonized well with the whole scheme of things.
They were also participants.
I then recognized my limitations to grasp the essence of what was going on.
I just let go of everything by allowing myself to be
overtaken by the gist of what is happening.
I have completely lost my sense of time.
And then I felt a veil of peace gently descending on me
as I closed my eyes for a moment of silence and sweet blankness of mind.

I then realized I was also a participant…what a sweet revelation.

At the end of the day, that peace is all about the discovery of essential truths, the dispensation of grace
and the realization of love, knowing that I am loved.

*photography by Virgilio Gavia

About Virgilio Gavia

Interests: poetry, photography, writing (prose and poetry), walking/hiking, reading (non-fiction and books of poetry) drinking coffee and herbal teas, camping, fishing, contemplating, solitude, silence, traveling, faded jeans, meaningful conversation, wabi-sabi, haiku, tanka, Jazz, Classical, oldies, all the books of Thomas Merton, Joseph Campbell, Thomas Moore, John O'Donohue, Mary Oliver, David Whyte, Mark Strand, ancient Chinese and Japanese poets, The Bible, spirituality, philosophy, psychology, sociology, history, humanities and the arts.
This entry was posted in Photo, Poetry, Ruminations. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to At the End of the Day

  1. artzent says:

    What a warm and thought provoking poem and I love the free verse form! thanks for sharing.

  2. Wonderful poem, sincerely Orofiorentino from Italy

  3. bebs1 says:

    I do agree, we have to learn to accept that cars and garbage trucks are parts of our present reality while we try to seek comfort with the beauty of nature that is God-given which is shrinking.

  4. Deborah - d.mooncrab says:

    Nice poem!! Resonates with me, “just being there as part of the natural order of the universe, and in obedience to the mild overtures of time and space”. Love, love the picture too!!

Leave a Reply

