Visual Poetry #21 (A Revelation in Silence)

…i took this picture (one of my favourites) two years ago at Seton Park, Toronto, Ontario…i vividly remember that one magical moment in time…it was so quiet in the woods…the trees were saying nothing… i tried to hear from the heart…the air was still…the crows were in a vow of silence…I was communing and internalizing everything for a couple of minutes, waiting for my gut to tell me when to shoot…there was a sense of deep peace…a reverence in silence…and I felt a certain kind of intimacy that I cannot put in words…i was witnessing an unfolding of beauty and a mystery…a clear realization…like a floating wordless poetry…after adjusting my setting, I quietly depressed the shutter…and silence was framed…I quietly left the woods sweetly blessed…

…and then this profound poem by The Poetess Ono No Komachi:

As certain as color                                                                                                                      Passes from the petal,                                                                                                      Irrevocable as flesh,                                                                                                                      The gazing eye falls through the world.

…and I was silent…and I turned inward, looking deep into myself…

(Note: the poem lifted from the book, One hundred Poems from the Japanese, by Kenneth Rexroth)

About Virgilio Gavia

Interests: poetry, photography, writing (prose and poetry), walking/hiking, reading (non-fiction and books of poetry) drinking coffee and herbal teas, camping, fishing, contemplating, solitude, silence, traveling, faded jeans, meaningful conversation, wabi-sabi, haiku, tanka, Jazz, Classical, oldies, all the books of Thomas Merton, Joseph Campbell, Thomas Moore, John O'Donohue, Mary Oliver, David Whyte, Mark Strand, ancient Chinese and Japanese poets, The Bible, spirituality, philosophy, psychology, sociology, history, humanities and the arts.
This entry was posted in Ancient Japanese Poet, Mystery, Photo, Photography, Poetry, Prose, Ruminations, Visual Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Visual Poetry #21 (A Revelation in Silence)

  1. Tina says:

    It truly is a beautiful picture. 🙂

  2. simply stunning! words and photograph …thank you.

  3. Beautiful indeed. Love the shot, great light.

  4. beautiful picture….this line “…and I was silent…and I turned inward, looking deep into myself…” suits so perfect to the picture….great work 🙂

  5. Your way with words has inspired so many poets in this planet of yours.

    Excellent piece my friend.

    Say, if you have free time on your hands check out my new blog.

    God hates condoms

    http://charliezero1.wordpress.com/2012/11/26/god-hates-condoms/

  6. I’m deeply moved by this photograph. I can’t stop looking at it!

Leave a Reply

