Visual Poetry #25 (Returning to Myself)

October 8, 12, 19, 2012 054

I photographed this man, deep in thought, in the heart of downtown Toronto…I went to the coffee shop with that man still in my mind…and then I wrote this in my journal:

I sit in silence                                                                                                                                     to return to myself.

I left the coffee shop pondering about the mystery and complexity of man’s interior life…

About Virgilio Gavia

Interests: poetry, photography, writing (prose and poetry), walking/hiking, reading (non-fiction and books of poetry) drinking coffee and herbal teas, camping, fishing, contemplating, solitude, silence, traveling, faded jeans, meaningful conversation, wabi-sabi, haiku, tanka, Jazz, Classical, oldies, all the books of Thomas Merton, Joseph Campbell, Thomas Moore, John O'Donohue, Mary Oliver, David Whyte, Mark Strand, ancient Chinese and Japanese poets, The Bible, spirituality, philosophy, psychology, sociology, history, humanities and the arts.
This entry was posted in Existentialism, Mystery, Photo, Psychology, Ruminations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Visual Poetry #25 (Returning to Myself)

  1. stillight says:

    Great contemplative moment you caught, Virgilio… I’d been wondering the same thing. Beautiful.

    • hi Jennifer, i’ve been feeling contemplative of late. it is the time of the year and it is catching up on me…and then i saw this man…after i took his picture, silence overwhelmed me…not only did i went inside the coffee shop, i also went inward…and wondered…thanks for the nice words.

  2. ‘I sit in silence to return to myself.’
    I do that, too.

  3. Hi, I have nominated you for the Sunshine Award! If you are interested, check my post: http://dreamlenz.com/2012/12/15/award-nominations/ Congratulations, have a great day 🙂

  4. Subhan Zein says:

    Deep and poignant. Great job, Virgilio.

    Subhan Zein

  5. bebs1 says:

    Beautiful shot. I wonder what’s in his mind.

  6. munchow says:

    A very contemplative photograph – and notes in the post. It’s a very nice photo, somewhat melancholy to me, and even with a feeling of loneliness.

  7. Greetings from Australia,
    Very beautiful capture of one pondering about life’s journey. I would have walked up to him and asked him “how things were going” Keep up the greta work and the thought provoking comments.
    God bless

Leave a Reply

