Wonderfully Absorbed in a Moment of What is

Wonderfully Absorbed in a Moment of What is

…a first morning…my contemplative morning walk…again I am wordless as I witness the utter simplicity and muteness of the moment…my eyes wander…my mind wonders…peaceful beauty…I enter and surrender deeply to this “Haiku moment”…and I remember this profound line from one of Thomas Merton’s writings: “The tranquility of eternity.”…I love and relish that thought…and I see those two trees…and the snowy ground…in a new light in black & white…there is a touch of Zen…I feel like everything is participating and conspiring in the silent beauty and wholeness of the moment…and all I have to do is humbly submit to whatever is happening…because there is the mystery…there is healing…there is wisdom…there is a gift…

(*i saw a sense of Zen in the image of the two trees and the snowy ground in the front yard of an old church along Sherbourne St., Toronto, Ontario and i took the shot)

About Virgilio Gavia

Interests: poetry, photography, writing (prose and poetry), walking/hiking, reading (non-fiction and books of poetry) drinking coffee and herbal teas, camping, fishing, contemplating, solitude, silence, traveling, faded jeans, meaningful conversation, wabi-sabi, haiku, tanka, Jazz, Classical, oldies, all the books of Thomas Merton, Joseph Campbell, Thomas Moore, John O'Donohue, Mary Oliver, David Whyte, Mark Strand, ancient Chinese and Japanese poets, The Bible, spirituality, philosophy, psychology, sociology, history, humanities and the arts.
Image | This entry was posted in Contemplation, Haiku, Inner Knowing, Inner Life, Intuition, Moment of Peace, Monochrome, Mystery, Photo, Photography, Poetry, Prose, Ruminations, Stillness, Visual Poetry, Winter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wonderfully Absorbed in a Moment of What is

  1. saazim1 says:

    I love the simplicity.

  2. philip del carmen says:

    wabi sabi it is.

  3. MrsDalloway says:

    I love haiku, and iki:))

Leave a Reply

