As I Bow Down

As I Bow Down

I am settled and fully present
In the deep awareness
Of a steely cold early afternoon
In the beauty and peacefulness
Of the hour
And In the deeply embedded
Clarity and truth in my heart
As I sensed the invisible embrace of grace.

And I bow down.

(*image photographed at St. James Park, Toronto, Ontario during one of my photo-contemplative walks)

About Virgilio Gavia

Interests: poetry, photography, writing (prose and poetry), walking/hiking, reading (non-fiction and books of poetry) drinking coffee and herbal teas, camping, fishing, contemplating, solitude, silence, traveling, faded jeans, meaningful conversation, wabi-sabi, haiku, tanka, Jazz, Classical, oldies, all the books of Thomas Merton, Joseph Campbell, Thomas Moore, John O'Donohue, Mary Oliver, David Whyte, Mark Strand, ancient Chinese and Japanese poets, The Bible, spirituality, philosophy, psychology, sociology, history, humanities and the arts.
Image | This entry was posted in Contemplation, Haiku Moment, Inner Knowing, Inner Life, Moment of Peace, Photo, Photography, Poetry, Ruminations, Spirituality, Visual Poetry, Winter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to As I Bow Down

  1. I bow to you Virgilio, as a gesture of appreciation for sharing the experiences you draw from your photo-contemplative walks.

    Please, excuse my English.

  2. j.h. white says:

    I dry flowers to learn of their graceful aging…stems brittle, petals leather, colors deepen and fragrance softens to an earthy dusk remaining more than memory. Still present.
    Thanks, Virgilio for this reminder.

    • “…remaining more than memory. Still present.” love this, J.H. yes, it goes beyond just memory…deeply embedded not only in my mind but also in the innermost chamber of my heart. thanks for the wonderful comments.

Leave a Reply

