Sinking Deeply Into the Present

Sinking Deeply Into the Present

…pleasant lights from the mosaic glass windows…flickering candle lights….but the darkness is still overpowering…a pleasant kind of darkness that is not fearful but sanctified…I was inside St. James Cathedral to take photos…I walked quietly and slowly as I tried to sense the spirit of the place…I took a couple of shots…before I left, I stood still with reverence and closed my eyes….and everything dissolved in sweet surrender…I felt unburdened and anonymous…all I can think of at first were the Carthusian monks deep in meditation all alone in their respective cells…my ego was curtailed by silence…I was engulfed by a presence that is higher and bigger than anything else…and I became aware of who I am in the bigger schema of things…a part of the intricate architecture of life…for a moment, I went deep into the present…after a couple of minutes, I opened my eyes…I went out the big door feeling like I just woke up from a very nice dream…

About Virgilio Gavia

Interests: poetry, photography, writing (prose and poetry), walking/hiking, reading (non-fiction and books of poetry) drinking coffee and herbal teas, camping, fishing, contemplating, solitude, silence, traveling, faded jeans, meaningful conversation, wabi-sabi, haiku, tanka, Jazz, Classical, oldies, all the books of Thomas Merton, Joseph Campbell, Thomas Moore, John O'Donohue, Mary Oliver, David Whyte, Mark Strand, ancient Chinese and Japanese poets, The Bible, spirituality, philosophy, psychology, sociology, history, humanities and the arts.
Image | This entry was posted in Contemplation, Inner Knowing, Inner Life, Moment of Peace, Mystery, Photo, Photography, Ruminations, Spirituality, Stillness, Visual Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sinking Deeply Into the Present

  1. I got that feeling merely from reading your words. A nice dream indeed.

  2. elizz says:

    beautifully written, your words are like the melody of a song, smooth and flowing ..

  3. damage says:

    Nicely done….(again!!) Virgilio 🙂

Leave a Reply

