As I Find Myself

As I Find Myself

It is all about the journeying
That creates meanings
The meanings that create life
The life I try to live fully well
The life that gives birth to intimacy
Every time my worn-out shoes kiss the road.
This is how I journey.
It is intensely personal in all its seriousness
As hard questions blossom and beg for answers
As I explore the philosophy and the poetics
Of the difficulty of life’s geometrical equation
As I sense the crude calligraphy of inner thoughts in the air
As I gasp for breathe
Yet I still journey on
Because
The thin line that is seen faraway is still visible
Even when the path I walk on is drenched with
Sweat and tears
Because
I find healing
I find meaning
As I find myself.

(*photographed along Underhill Drive, Toronto, Ontario during one of my photo-contemplative walks)

About Virgilio Gavia

Interests: poetry, photography, writing (prose and poetry), walking/hiking, reading (non-fiction and books of poetry) drinking coffee and herbal teas, camping, fishing, contemplating, solitude, silence, traveling, faded jeans, meaningful conversation, wabi-sabi, haiku, tanka, Jazz, Classical, oldies, all the books of Thomas Merton, Joseph Campbell, Thomas Moore, John O'Donohue, Mary Oliver, David Whyte, Mark Strand, ancient Chinese and Japanese poets, The Bible, spirituality, philosophy, psychology, sociology, history, humanities and the arts.
Image | This entry was posted in Contemplation, Existentialism, Inner Knowing, Inner Life, Intuition, Monochrome, Mystery, Photo, Photography, Poetry, Ruminations, sentimentalism, Visual Poetry, Winter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to As I Find Myself

  1. stillight says:

    ah, i love this, Virgilio – so beautiful – and the photo too.

  2. Teri Flynn@maskednative says:

    I really like this, the road less travelled, your journey is beautiful.

  3. Thoughtful words.

    Like the little stream
    Making its way
    Through the mossy crevices
    I, too, quietly
    Turn clear and transparent.

    Daigu Ryokan

  4. Thanks Virgilio. Your thoughts leave many openings.
    “Like the little stream
    Making its way
    Through the mossy crevices….

Leave a Reply

