How to Open Wide One’s Life

How to Open Wide One’s Life

…6:23 PM…coffee shop…I’ve just finished reading Rilke’s Book of Hours (Love Poems to God)…and I just sat quietly for a time, thinking about how life can be opened wide with meaning in the autumn of one’s life…and I don’t know if I will deal with this philosophically or poetically…my mind is filled with metaphors reconciling with the mental struggle…minutes slithered quietly…the coffee cup has been emptied…and then I left accompanied by silence, still thinking what will come next…it will be a long, long walk…I just saw a bird abandoned a tree…

About Virgilio Gavia

Interests: poetry, photography, writing (prose and poetry), walking/hiking, reading (non-fiction and books of poetry) drinking coffee and herbal teas, camping, fishing, contemplating, solitude, silence, traveling, faded jeans, meaningful conversation, wabi-sabi, haiku, tanka, Jazz, Classical, oldies, all the books of Thomas Merton, Joseph Campbell, Thomas Moore, John O'Donohue, Mary Oliver, David Whyte, Mark Strand, ancient Chinese and Japanese poets, The Bible, spirituality, philosophy, psychology, sociology, history, humanities and the arts.
Image | This entry was posted in autumn, clarity, Connection, Existentialism, Inner Knowing, Inner Life, Intuition, Monochrome, Mystery, Photography, Poetry, Rilke, Ruminations, sentimentalism, Symbolism, Wholeness, Wondering and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to How to Open Wide One’s Life

  1. Tom says:

    Things, to me, begin to make sense in the autumn. During the spring and summer of our lives, there seems to be too much slogging along to fully understand, or comprehend, the overall journey. Too much of the too muchness to see clearly. I’m enjoying most of the revelations each day brings. The sense of acceptance and inner peace is quite nice.

    My Rilke holdings are a bit thin. I’ll look into what you have just read.

    • thanks, Tom…and i agree with your insightful thoughts…i have come to recognize that each day is a revelation indeed…the sense of acceptance is heightened…and the inner peace is more delicious 🙂

  2. Geo Sans says:

    ours
    or
    hours
    ~
    ?

  3. I have read some Rilke as teenager and just returned to hi Orpheus story but now you have led me to order this. I think Rilke and myself are creaters of G-d. What we find is a lone bird in a tree. That is him being with us. In all and not outside anything.

Leave a Reply

