Every Step a Sanctuary

Every Step a Sanctuary

…I move without questions…I actually do not question what I see, how I feel…I just sense as I walk…and wonder without asking why…and this is what I find beautiful…as they are and where they are right at those defining moments of clarity and connection, and of belonging…it elevates me to another level of knowing…this is the only one I have to know at this time…a lovely poetical configuration as the landscape is both expansive and at the same confining, leading inside, extending outside…this I see as my delicious escapade from the downs of life…no pain…no suffering…no anxiety…no bills to think of…so peaceful…every step a sanctuary, a moving refuge…just me, the landscape and the objects interacting…it seems like floating in a brief timeless moment…and then…and then the bone-penetrating coldness of February starts to engage me…it is minus 20 degrees Celsius with the wind-chill…

About Virgilio Gavia

Interests: poetry, photography, writing (prose and poetry), walking/hiking, reading (non-fiction and books of poetry) drinking coffee and herbal teas, camping, fishing, contemplating, solitude, silence, traveling, faded jeans, meaningful conversation, wabi-sabi, haiku, tanka, Jazz, Classical, oldies, all the books of Thomas Merton, Joseph Campbell, Thomas Moore, John O'Donohue, Mary Oliver, David Whyte, Mark Strand, ancient Chinese and Japanese poets, The Bible, spirituality, philosophy, psychology, sociology, history, humanities and the arts.
Image | This entry was posted in clarity, Connection, Contemplation, Deeper Truth, Inner Knowing, Inner Life, Intuition, Moment of Peace, Mystery, Ruminations, Silence, Spirituality, sub consciousness, Winter. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Every Step a Sanctuary

  1. Geo Sans says:

    today
    along the river edge
    my foot tests
    crunches
    ice

Leave a Reply

