Weaving Dreams

DSC00846

I know how it feels

to look out the window

and see a grey sky and naked trees

on a quiet Saturday of a cold February afternoon.

I do not see any birds.

But I am fully aware of a gentle presence,

a thin spread of silence

and the gracious attendance of mercy.

And I find it achingly romantic.

And I stare out the window again,

this time with a long soft look and a lull pause

and it just feels so right, so redeeming,

so exclusive, so even, so simple, so forever.

And I feel I am connected somehow to something larger, 

to the truth of all things that delicately cradles the soul.

And It is more than enough to make me weave dreams with misty eyes.

It seems strange, those misty eyes.

It is just kind.

About Virgilio Gavia

Interests: poetry, photography, writing (prose and poetry), walking/hiking, reading (non-fiction and books of poetry) drinking coffee and herbal teas, camping, fishing, contemplating, solitude, silence, traveling, faded jeans, meaningful conversation, wabi-sabi, haiku, tanka, Jazz, Classical, oldies, all the books of Thomas Merton, Joseph Campbell, Thomas Moore, John O'Donohue, Mary Oliver, David Whyte, Mark Strand, ancient Chinese and Japanese poets, The Bible, spirituality, philosophy, psychology, sociology, history, humanities and the arts.
This entry was posted in clarity, Connection, Contemplation, Deeper Truth, Inner Knowing, Knowing, Moment of Peace, Mystery, Poetry, Remembrance, Ruminations, sentimentalism, Stillness, Uncategorized, Wholeness. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Weaving Dreams

  1. Such serenity was needed by me today. Thank you for sharing it so openly and eloquently… I literally felt your calm comforting me… 🙂

  2. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the work of an artist in making visible the invisible. You do this for me. Thank you!

  3. sanberdooboy says:

    your poem “sets the scene” so well. these three lines are especially lovely: “But I am fully aware of a gentle presence,/ a thin spread of silence/ and the gracious attendance of mercy.” your use of “presence, …silence,…mercy,” helps to create the effect.

  4. So beautiful! Love what you call the thin spread of silence, achingly romantic, something larger that delicately cradles the soul!

  5. Most welcome! I resonate with you in terms of looking at existence with an unique perspective and then attempting to describe it so heartfully!

Leave a Reply

