It is More About the Heart

It is More About the Heart

…there it is, the presence of the absence…hard to ignore…you see something…you hear a song…you smell something familiar…it appears invisibly as if on cue…as I remember…as I reminisce…it is in remembering that I can clearly make sense of the definition of love and honor and respect…it is a loving remembrance of a beautiful bond…to some, it is strange…yet it tells me about birth and rebirth…and reminds me about living…about what life is…and it goes even further as it tells me about reconfiguring and seeing oneself in a new light without discarding the old definitions in relation to what was here once before…it is more about the heart…more about poetry…it is more about what I feel defines me more deeply…and I simply go with the ride with my heart as my navigational system…and the heart does break, I know… but this is what makes me feel more human…and whole…

(*image taken at Charles Sauriol Conservation Area, Toronto, Ontario)

About Virgilio Gavia

Interests: poetry, photography, writing (prose and poetry), walking/hiking, reading (non-fiction and books of poetry) drinking coffee and herbal teas, camping, fishing, contemplating, solitude, silence, traveling, faded jeans, meaningful conversation, wabi-sabi, haiku, tanka, Jazz, Classical, oldies, all the books of Thomas Merton, Joseph Campbell, Thomas Moore, John O'Donohue, Mary Oliver, David Whyte, Mark Strand, ancient Chinese and Japanese poets, The Bible, spirituality, philosophy, psychology, sociology, history, humanities and the arts.
Image | This entry was posted in Connection, Contemplation, Inner Knowing, Inner Life, Intuition, Love, memories, Monochrome, Photo, Photography, Poetry, Prose, Remembrance, Ruminations, sentimentalism, Stillness, sub consciousness, Wholeness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It is More About the Heart

  1. bebs1 says:

    Yes love can give you so much joy and at the same time if you are unlucky can give you heartache.

    • thanks, Lou, and i agree…in this case, it is more a deeper kind of love, a love that is more blessed, which in the end has become even more profound and transcending…in which case, love has risen to another level of intensity…it is a kind of love that survives, that continues through the living, through memories and remembrances, through reminders even of small things, like the sweet aroma of a freshly brewed coffee…and i became more aware of myself more deeply…and i love this quote by Pablo Neruda, “…and the measure of my changing love for you is that I do not see you but love you.”…even more, if i may add…

  2. maskednative says:

    Your posts are always thought provoking. I think you write about memories stored in the heart, fresh and new with each recollection, of people, places, times, memories of where we belong, but even more than this, where we are at home, in the heart of the one true thing.

Leave a Reply

